Governor's arts awards recipients to be honored

Posted at: 05/20/2013 7:28 AM | Updated at: 05/20/2013 7:29 AM
By: The Associated Press

SANTA FE, N.M. (AP) - The New Mexico Arts Commission says seven artists and supporters of the arts are recipients of this year's Governor's Awards for Excellence in the Arts.

An awards ceremony is scheduled Sept. 27 in Santa Fe at the New Mexico Museum of Arts and there will be a reception in the state Capitol.

The recipients are Rio Rancho painter and printmaker Edward Gonzales, Santa Fe painter Darren Vigil Gray, Taos musician Jenny Vincent, Taos painter and furniture maker Jim Wagner and Santa Fe potter Frank Willett.

Aria Finch of Roswell and the Mimbres Region Arts Council of Silver City will receive awards as major contributors to the arts.

The awards are given annually and were established in 1974 by former Gov. Bruce King and his wife, Alice.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)


Paid Advertisement:

Paid Advertisement:
Know More? Got Photo? Got Video? Correction Needed?

KOB welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the rules of conduct set forth in our Terms of Use. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Use.

Advertisement | Your Ad Here

Advertisement | Your Ad Here

Set Home
SMS Text Alerts
Text Alerts
Email News
Android App
Android App
iPhone - iPad App
iOS App

Advertisement | Your Ad Here

Site Index