Wiggins is special

Updated: 12/10/2013 4:59 PM | Created: 12/10/2013 1:31 PM
By: J.P. Murrieta, KOB Eyewitness Sports 4

University of New Mexico running back Carlos Wiggins was named the Mountain West Special Teams Player of the Year.

Wiggins had three returns for touchdowns this season, tying a school record set by Terance Mathis in 1989.  The sophomore from Texas is No.5 in the nation in kickoff returns with a 29.6-yard average.  His 1,303 kick return yards leads the NCAA.

UNM punter Ben Skaer also earned first-team All-Mountain West honors.  Senior running back Kasey Carrier was named All-MW second team.  Senior linebacker Dallas Bollema, senior center Dillon Farrell, senior left tackle Darryl Johnson, junior defensive end Brett Bowers and junior left guard LaMar Bratton all earned honorable mention.

KOB welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the rules of conduct set forth in our Terms of Use. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Use.

Join Our Email List