Navajo president fails to make it through primary

Updated: 08/27/2014 9:09 AM | Created: 08/27/2014 9:05 AM
By: Elizabeth Reed,

Unofficial results are in for the Navajo Nation's presidential primary race.

According to the Navajo Nation primary election website, all precincts are reporting and President Ben Shelly will not be up for re-election.

Instead, former President Joe Shirley, Jr. and one-time Arizona Rep. Chris Deschene will face off in the general election on Nov. 4.

Shirley served as the Navajo Nation president from 2003 to 2011. He came away with the most votes in the primary race: 10,910.

Deschene was elected as the state representative from the Navajo Nation in the Arizona House of Representatives in 2008. He came in second in the primary race with 9,734 votes.

Shelly had 2,446 votes.

There were 17 candidates in total.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report)

Joe Shirley Jr. (left) and Chris Deschene will face off for president on Nov. 4.
Incumbent President Ben Shelly did not secure enough votes for re-election.

KOB welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the rules of conduct set forth in our Terms of Use. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Use.