Early voting begins in Rio Rancho election

Updated: 02/12/2014 1:23 PM | Created: 02/12/2014 11:27 AM
By: Nikki Ibarra, KOB Eyewitness News 4

Starting Wednesday, Rio Rancho voters can get a jumpstart on deciding who they think should be the city's next mayor.

In September, current mayor Tom Swisstack announced he will not seek re-election.

Election Day isn't until March 4, but early voting starts today and lasts until Feb. 28. Registered voters can cast their ballots at City Hall during the week from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m.

Rio Rancho is a city of more than 90,000 people. Four people are running for mayor's seat: Greggory D. Hull, a local businessman; Michael J. Williams, a former city councilor; R. Morgan Braden, a small business owner; and Jim Owen, who served as Rio Rancho's mayor from 2002-2006.

The race isn't only about picking Rio Rancho's next mayor; there are also three city council spots and a municipal judge up for election.

Ramon Montano, Jeffrey Goen and G. Robert Cook are running for municipal judge.

Dawnn Robinson, Darlene Collins and Sandra Jean Atwood are running for city councilor for District 2. Tamara Gutierrez and Cheryl Ann Everett are running for District 3. Thomas Buckner, Timothy Crum, Shelby Smith and Paul Joseph Howell are vying for District 5.

For more information about the election, visit the city of Rio Rancho's website.

KOB welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the rules of conduct set forth in our Terms of Use. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Use.

Join Our Email List

Form not appearing? Click Here.