Bairstow is OK with Thames winning MVP

Updated: 03/10/2014 8:47 PM | Created: 03/10/2014 8:30 PM
By: J.P. Murrieta, KOB Eyewitness Sports 4

The Mountain West announced their All-Conference Men's Basketball Awards on Monday.  University of New Mexico seniors Cameron Bairstow and Kendall Williams were both 1st team selections.

San Diego State head coach Steve Fisher earned MW Coach of the Year honors, while the Aztecs' Xavier Thames was voted the Player of the Year.


(Selected by media and head coaches)

First-Team All-Mountain West

Name, Team                                              

Cameron Bairstow, New Mexico                 

Deonte Burton, Nevada*                            

Kendall Williams, New Mexico**              

Xavier Thames, San Diego State                

Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming                          

Second-Team All-Mountain West

Name, Team                                             

Anthony Drmic, Boise State*                     

Ryan Watkins, Boise State                        

Daniel Bejarano, Colorado State                 

Tyler Johnson, Fresno State                       

Khem Birch, UNLV                                    

Third-Team All-Mountain West

Name, Team                                            

Tre’ Coggins, Air Force                              

J.J. Avila, Colorado State                          

Alex Kirk, New Mexico*                            

Josh Davis, San Diego State                       

Bryce Dejean-Jones, UNLV                         

All-Defensive Team

Name, Team                                             

Alex Kirk, New Mexico                              

Kendall Williams, New Mexico                   

Skylar Spencer, San Diego State               

Xavier Thames, San Diego State                

Khem Birch, UNLV                                   

Larry Nance Jr., Wyoming                          

Honorable Mention All-Mountain West

Derrick Marks, Jr., G, Boise State

Marvelle Harris, So., G, Fresno State

Cole Huff, So., F, Nevada

Hugh Greenwood, Jr., G, New Mexico

JJ O’Brien, Jr., F, San Diego State

Winston Shepard, So., F, San Diego State

Roscoe Smith, Jr., F, UNLV

Spencer Butterfield, Sr., G/F, Utah State

Jarred Shaw, Sr., C, Utah State

Player of the Year: Xavier Thames, Sr., G, San Diego State

Defensive Player of the Year: Khem Birch, Jr., F, UNLV

Newcomer of the Year: Josh Davis, Sr., F, San Diego State

Freshman of the Year: Paul Watson, Fr., G/F, Fresno State

Sixth Man of the Year: Dwayne Polee II, Jr., F, San Diego State

Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher, San Diego State

*Indicates number of previous All-Conference selections

Despite the fact Bairstow leads the league in scoring and field goal percentage, he was not voted the league's top player.  The senior didn't have a problem with Thames being named Player of the Year.  "Traditionally, every four years, it's been the best player on the best team," explained Bairstow.  "They won the conference so that's the way it should be.  He (Thames) deserved the award."

"There's not a guy in our league that went from game one, out of the 18, that was more consistent than Cam Bairstow," said UNM head coach Craig Neal.  "But I understand Xavier winning it, I'm happy for him."  As expected, Neal confirmed he voted for Bairstow.

Thursday night in Las Vegas, UNM will face the winner of the Fresno State-Air Force game.

Cameron Bairstow named 1st team All-MW

KOB welcomes a lively and courteous discussion as long as you follow the rules of conduct set forth in our Terms of Use. Comments are not pre-screened before they post. You agree that anything you post may be used, along with your name and profile picture, in accordance with our Privacy Policy and the license you have granted pursuant to our Terms of Use.

Join Our Email List

Form not appearing? Click Here.