NM representatives to be sworn into 116th Congress | KOB 4

NM representatives to be sworn into 116th Congress

Marian Camacho
January 03, 2019 06:39 AM

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Two new representatives from New Mexico are in Washington, D.C. this morning. Democrats Xochitl Torres Small and Deb Haaland will be officially sworn into the 116th Congress.


Haaland won with nearly 60-percent of the vote in district one. Torres Small's road to Congress was a little more challenging with a tight race in district two against Republican Yvette Herrell. 

KOB spoke with Haaland who says ending the partial government shutdown is her priority, but she is against funding a border wall.

"I'm against funding a wall," said Haaland. "We don't need a wall, we need jobs. Yes, we need border security but I don't think that means billions of dollars for a wall when we have infrastructure in this country that needs tending to."

Representative Ben Ray Lujan of New Mexico's third district is also returning to his seat in Congress today that he has held since 2009.


Marian Camacho

Copyright 2019 KOB-TV LLC, a Hubbard Broadcasting Company. All rights reserved

Comment on Facebook

Share 4 - News Tips - Photos - Videos
  Share a News Tip, Story Idea, Photo, Video


Relay Media Amp



Police identify rideshare driver who shot, killed man on I-25

Former priest accused of rape released from custody

Sen. Tom Udall will not seek re-election in 2020

Nonprofit educates teens, parents on safe driving

Man convicted of murder pleads guilty to two more homicides