Democrat convention votes released

[anvplayer video=”5095724″ station=”998127″]

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The Democratic Party of New Mexico announced the results of delegate votes from the party’s pre-primary convention.

The Democrats held their pre-primary convention March 5 in Roswell. Results were announced by Party Chair Jessica Velasquez in a Zoom call Sunday. She said a record 97.11% of delegates cast votes over the last week.

Under state law, candidates must receive at least 20% of delegate votes to get on the June ballot via the primary convention process.

Delegates who fail to meet that 20% threshold can still get on the ballot if they gather additional petition signatures and submit them to the Secretary of State’s Office by Tuesday.

Results in contested primary races:

U.S. House in New Mexico’s 2nd Congressional District:

Gabriel ‘Gabe’ Vasquez – 80.43%

Darshan Patel: – 19.57%

Attorney General of New Mexico

Brian Colón – 61.46%

Raúl Torrez – 38.54%

New Mexico State Treasurer

Laura Montoya – 58.29%

Heather Benavidez – 41.71%

New Mexico State Auditor

Zack Quintero – 61.81%

Joseph Maestas – 38.19%

Candidates in uncontested primary races:

Governor of New Mexico

Michelle Lujan Grisham – 100%

United States Representative (NM-01)

Melanie Stansberry – 100%.

United States Representative (NM-03)

Teresa Leger Fernandez – 100%

Lieutenant Governor of New Mexico

Howie Morales – 100%

New Mexico Secretary of State

Maggie Toulouse Oliver – 100%

New Mexico Commissioner of Public Lands

Stephanie Garcia Richard – 100%

Justice of the New Mexico Supreme Court, Position 1

Justice Julie J. Vargas – 100%

Justice of the New Mexico Supreme Court, Position 2

Justice Briana H. Zamora – 100%

New Mexico Court of Appeals Judge, Position 1

Judge Gerald E. Baca – 100%

New Mexico Court of Appeals Judge, Position 2

Judge Katherine Anne Wray – 100%