Interior Department renames 10 NM public lands containing Native slur

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Ten new names were unveiled for public lands in New Mexico that previously used a derogatory term for Native women.

The United States Geological Survey released the new names for places in New Mexico and 33 other states this week. The renaming effort is part of Interior Secretary Deb Haaland’s push to remove the anti-Native slur from U.S. place names.

New Mexico’s lands are in nine counties and consist of four named mountain summits, three streams, one spring, one reservoir and one valley, as follows by their new names.


  • Tamayameh Kah Sta Mah, Sandoval County
  • Grandview Peak, Sierra County
  • Bar Mountain, Doña Ana County
  • Bear Peak, Socorro County


  • Meason Creek, Grant County
  • Tin Creek, Catron and Sierra counties
  • Janey Creek, Chaves County


  • Tuurkava Paachihpi Spring, San Juan County


  • Lone Butte Tank, Otero County


  • Horse Camp Canyon, Sierra County